29/07/12 - FIM World Champ.: Carlisle

Toni Bou - Repsol Montesa signed of his season in style as he took yet another win today at the closing event of the 2012 FIM Trial World Championship. This was his eleventh victory this year and fiftieth of his career to date. With Bou’s title already sealed, it was the battle behind him that was the story of the day. Fourth in the standings heading into the final Grand Prix Adam Raga - Gas Gas produced two solid results in Great Britain, including his second place today to snatch the runners up spot in the series away from Jeroni Fajardo - Beta by a single point in one of the most dramatic finales the championship has seen.

Ironically it was Fajardo’s team mate James Dabill – Beta who pushed him off the podium today, as the British rider achieved his best ever result, and once again in front of his home fans. Dabill’s previous best finish was at the same venue back in 2009 when he was fourth. It is not the first time that Beta factory shows its fair play. In 1992 Jordi Tarres lost the title in favour of Tommy Ahvala, because Amos Bilbao stole precious points in the last two rounds held in Canada and USA. For Beta politic all the factory's riders have the same chances and the same treatement.

Albert Cabestany - Sherco was enduring one of his worst as he followed up his sixth place on day one with an equally disappointing fifth spot on day two. As a result Cabestany dropped to fourth in the general standings after having arrived in the UK with a chance of becoming vice World Champion.

Heavy overnight rain and then persistent showers throughout the opening lap meant the riders were faced with another tough day of competition, although some modifications had been made to the sections to allow for the wetter conditions. Typically Bou was in devastating form on the first lap despite the rapidly changing weather and rode without penalty until the final two hazards. A five and dab in the closing two sections put Toni on six, eight marks clear of his nearest challenger, Raga. Bou and Raga matched each other mark for mark on the second lap to occupy the top two spots respectively, whilst Dabill held his nerve to record his maiden podium placing. Dabill’s joy was at the expense of Fajardo, who lost second place in the championship fight as he was demoted to fourth on the day after his challenge faded during the closing fifteen sections.

Benoit Dagnicourt – Beta was the winner in the Junior class today, taking the victory by eight marks from Pol Tarres – Jotagas, with Maxime Warenghien – Gas Gas securing the last rostrum placing after a tense tie-break with Jack Sheppard – Beta. Warenghien would have finished as runner up today, but incurred three time penalties for starting late. Yesterday’s winner Francesc Moret – Montesa could only manage fifth place this time out, but still managed to hold onto second spot in the final points table. Dagnicourt’s win saw him move above Tarres in the general standings and earn a surprise top three ranking.

Seventeen year old Bradley Cox – Beta secured the runners up spot in the final Youth general standings as he recorded his second win of the weekend to end his first full season in the series in some style. Whilst Cox had to wait right until the last round of the championship to take his maiden victory, it was his sheer consistency with seven runners up positions during his 2012 campaign that earned his ranking. The British rider was pushed all the way today, as he defeated his Italian rival Francesco Cabrini – Beta by a single mark. Quentin Carles de Caudemberg – Beta from France completed the final Youth rostrum of the year.


Sempre Bou nel trial tipicamente "inglese" con pioggia e sole in alternanza tutto il giorno. Per il secondo posto in campionato la spunta Raga. Fair play Beta, con Fajardo battuto dal compagno Dabill, sul podio per la prima volta, che si vede superare da Raga di un solo punto in campionato.

Cabrini secondo nella Youth, per solo un punto dietro all'inglese Cox. Altre news e foto degli italiani cliccando qui.

Su Motosprint martedi' prox ti attendono 2 pagine dedicate all'evento!




1. Toni Bou
2. Adam Raga
3. James Dabill
4. Jeroni Fajardo
5. Albert Cabestany
6. Takahisa Fujinami
7. Jack Challoner
8. Alexz Wigg
9. Dani Oliveras
10. Michael Brown
11. Alexandre Ferrer
12. Matteo Grattarola
13. Eddie Karlsson
14. Pere Borellas